June 13th, 2014 Conference

Evidence for New Medical Products:
Implications for Patients and Health Policy

Date: June 13th, 2014
Time: 8:30 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Location: American Association for the Advancement of Science, Washington, D.C.
Register here: http://www.aaas.org/oZT

This event is co-sponsored by the American Association for the Advancement of Science, Division of Pharmacoepidemiology and Pharmacoeconomics of Brigham and Women’s Hospital/Harvard Medical School, and National Center for Health Research.

Conference Focus

Better implementation of evidence-based medicine can improve the quality and cost-effectiveness of health care in the U.S. This can be challenging in evaluating newly approved drugs and medical devices. While current law requires that medical products be proven safe and effective, there is growing pressure to expedite access to promising therapies and to lessen the research and regulatory requirements for manufacturers. Unmet medical needs and patient demands call for a flexible approach to prescription drug and device regulation, but truncated premarket review may also lead to approval of products that are less effective than expected or have unanticipated safety problems. This groundbreaking conference will review the growing body of research on the medical and public health implications of medical product approval criteria, and examine these findings in the context of patient outcomes, costs, and health policy.

Confirmed Speakers Include

Jerry Avorn, MD, Professor, Harvard Medical School; Greg Curfman, MD, Executive Editor, New England Journal of Medicine; Congresswoman Rosa DeLauro; Aaron Kesselheim, MD, Harvard Medical School; Bernard Lo, MD, President, Greenwall Foundation; Rita Redberg, MD, Editor, JAMA Internal Medicine; Joseph Ross, MD, Yale Medical School; Patrick Ryan, PhD, Janssen Research and Development; Sebastian Schneeweiss, MD, Harvard Medical School; Lisa Schwartz, MD, Dartmouth; Joe Selby, MD, Executive Director, Patient Centered Outcomes Research Institute; Steven Woloshin, MD, Dartmouth; Robert Yarchoan, MD, National Cancer Institute; Diana Zuckerman, PhD, National Center for Health Research.

For more details on the program and registration, please go to http://www.aaas.org/oZT. There is no cost for attending the event, but space is limited and advance registration is required.