Foremother Awards and Health Policy Luncheon

Every year, we take time off from our research, public education, and advocacy to thank women and men who have improved our lives.

The Foremother Award recognizes women for their lifetime achievements, who expanded women’s horizons, improved our communities, and made remarkable contributions to our country.  We let them know what an honor it is to follow in their formidable footsteps.

To learn more about our 2014 Foremother and Health Policy Hero Award Luncheon, scroll down.  To view our previous Luncheons, click here.

foremother bannerIn addition to showing our appreciation for our amazing Foremothers, we also recognize Health Policy Heroes. This award honors men and women who have helped to improve the lives of adults and children nationwide by supporting health policies that help protect lives and improve medical care for us all.

2014 Foremother Awards and Health Policy Heroes Luncheon

We had a wonderful time at our 2014 Foremothers and Health Policy Heroes Awards luncheon at the beautiful Mayflower Hotel.


Honoree Phyllis Reynolds Naylor and Emcee Maureen Bunyan

slaughter podium

Honoree Louise Slaughter


Health Policy Hero Charles Ornstein, Honoree Phyllis Reynolds Naylor, Health Policy Hero Tracy Weber

pollin dz

Honoree Irene Pollin with Dr. Diana Zuckerman


Past Foremothers with Emcee L to R: Mary Hager, Carmen Delgado Votaw, Ruth Nadel, Fann Harding, Emcee Maureen Bunyan, Omega Silva

Former Foremother Ruth Nadel turned 100 this year

Former Foremother Ruth Nadel turned 100 this year!

To view more photos of our event, see our facebook album

Irene Pollin has dedicated her life to improving the lives of others, as a psychiatric social worker, writer advocate, and philanthropist. She is the founder and chairperson of Sister to Sister: The Women’s Heart Health Foundation, the first organization to address the public health crisis that heart disease is the #1 killer of women. Sister to Sister has provided more than 100,000 free heart health screenings and counseling nationwide.  With her late husband, Abe, the Pollins co-owned the Washington Wizards and the Washington Capitals, and together helped revitalize Washington, DC through philanthropy, public service, and an unwavering commitment to the community.

Phyllis Reynolds Naylor is one of our nation’s most beloved authors of children’s and young adult fiction, best known for her trilogy Shiloh (a 1992 Newbery Medal book about a young boy and an abused dog) and for her Alice books, about a motherless girl looking for a role model while fumbling through adolescence, with the final book highlighting her life from ages 18-60. The Alice books have been praised and criticized for their realistic portrayal of the life of a teenage girl.  Naylor has written more than 135 books, many receiving awards as well as special recognition by the American Library Association and the International Reading Association, and as selections for the Junior Literary Guild.

The Honorable Louise Slaughter is a powerful and unique Member of the U.S. House of Representatives. Serving her 14th term, Rep. Slaughter takes on the fights no one else will.  She co-authored the historic Violence Against Women Act and is now on the forefront of fighting sexual assault in the military.   As the only Member of Congress with a degree in microbiology, she has played a central role in the major health and science issues of our time, achieving landmark legislation such as federal funding for research on DES, the inclusion of women and minorities in clinical trials, and increased federal funding for breast cancer.   She is the original author of the Genetic Information and Non-Discrimination Act (GINA), which became law in 2008, and the Preservation of Antibiotics for Medical Treatment Act, which would drastically reduce the epidemic of antibiotic resistance.

Our two health policy heroes are ProPublica’s Charles Ornstein and Tracy Weber, whose investigative series of articles delineating Medicare’s reimbursement for doctors prescribing massive quantities of inappropriate medications, and wasting billions on needlessly expensive drugs has resulted in Medicare broadening its powers to reduce fraud, waste abuse, and harmful prescriptions.


We gratefully acknowledge our 2014 sponsors:

Platinum Sponsors:

AAJ high qNATCA_logo_color

Gold Sponsors:

The Cooper-Rothenberg Group at Morgan Stanley

Catherine Joyce at Morgan Stanley Wealth Management


congressional federal NES logo 5-21sixth and i

It’s too late for this year, but if you want to sponsor our 2015 event, reserve a table, buy a patron ticket, or have questions of any kind, please contact Maura Duffy at or (202) 223-4000